Reuse Layouts and Layout Settings
 
 
 

When you create a layout, you can choose to apply the information from an existing template.

A layout template is a layout imported from a DWG or DWT file. When you create a layout, you can choose to apply the information from an existing template. The program has sample layout templates to use when you design a new layout environment. The paper space objects and page setup in the existing template are used in the new layout. Thus, the layout objects, including any viewport objects, are displayed in paper space. You can keep any of the existing objects from the template you import, or you can delete the objects. No model space objects are imported.

The layout templates are identified with a .dwt file extension. However, a layout template or layout from any drawing or drawing template can be imported into the current drawing.

Save a Layout Template

Any drawing can be saved as a drawing template (DWT file), including all of the objects and layout settings. You can save a layout to a new DWT file by choosing the Save As option of the LAYOUT command. The template file is saved in the drawing template file folder as defined in the Options dialog box, Support tab. The layout template has a .dwt or .dwg extension like a drawing template or drawing file, but it contains little information not essential to the layout.

When you create a new layout template, any named items, such as blocks, layers, and dimension styles, that are used in the layout are saved with the template. These definition table items are imported as part of the layout settings if you import this template into a new layout. It is recommended that you use the Save As option of the LAYOUT command to create a new layout template. When you use the Save As option, unused definition table items are not saved with the file; they are not added to the new layout into which you import the template.

If you insert a layout from a drawing or template that was not created using the Save As option of the LAYOUT command, definition table items that are used in the drawing but not in the layout are inserted with the layout. To eliminate unnecessary definition table items, use the PURGE command.

Insert a Layout Using DesignCenter

Using DesignCenter™, you can drag a layout with its objects from any drawing into the current drawing.

When you use DesignCenter to insert a layout into a drawing, a new layout is created that includes all of the paper space objects, definition tables, and block definitions from the source layout. You can delete unneeded paper space objects. To eliminate any unnecessary definition table information from the new layout, use the PURGE command.